ED Grants NCLB Waivers to Five States

DoEd awards four-year renewal waivers to five states — Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, North Carolina and Virginia — that allow them continued flexibility from provisions of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), also known as No Child Left Behind (NCLB).

This year, Congress is working on an overhaul of ESEA, which has been due for reauthorization since 2007. But until a new law is in place, the law continues to stand. This means states need a new round of waivers that provide flexibility from top-down, prescriptive provisions of the law so that they can continue implementing innovative changes that ensure all children receive a high-quality education.

These four-year renewals provide states with stability as they continue to work on preparing students for success.

About Frank Klimko

Frank Klimko is a nationally known journalist, grants expert and speech writer/speaker. He has years of experience helping nonprofits devise lists of the right funding opportunities and secure funding from these foundations and corporate entities. Clients have focused on an array of areas including child care, homeless, hunger and K-12 education. Additionally, he is a Freedom of Information Act expert, who has helped numerous clients with securing proprietary information from the federal government. Currently, Frank Klimko writes the Children & Youth Funding Report and Private Grants Alert, which are Washington DC-based publications. CYF is a daily publication covering Congress, the Education Dept. and the various federal regulatory agencies. PGA, another daily publication, covers the world of private philanthropy.
This entry was posted in Capitol Hill, Federal Funding, Local and State. Bookmark the permalink.