DoEd Awards More Than $6.5M to Help Schools Promote Equity in Education

DeptOfEd_largeThe Education Dept. (DoEd) awards more than $6.5 million in grants to four regional Equity Assistance Centers to support schools and communities creating equitable education opportunities in the K-12 classroom.

The centers, authorized under Title IV of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, will provide technical assistance in the preparation and implementation of plans for the desegregation of public schools and in the development of effective methods for coping with special educational problems caused by desegregation. The centers will also provide resources and training to combat issues such as hate crimes, implicit bias, racial prejudice and bullying.

“Students deserve the opportunity to learn in an environment that provides them with a fair chance to reach their true potential,” said DoEd Secy. John King. “The centers provide critical resources to districts and communities to ensure that our most vulnerable students have access to an equitable education.”

The five-year grants will provide funding for activities such as disseminating information on successful education practices and legal requirements related to nondiscrimination on the basis of race, sex, national origin, and religion in educational programs.

All four centers will be run by organizations with demonstrated expertise in providing effective technical assistance on strategies to ensure equitable access to effective teachers and leaders.

  • Region I will be served by the Mid-Atlantic Equity Consortium, Inc., located in Bethesda, Maryland. Region I includes Connecticut, Delaware, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Vermont, the Virgin Islands, and West Virginia.
  • Region II will be served by the Intercultural Development Research Association, located in San Antonio, Texas. Region II includes Alabama, Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.
  • Region III will be served by Indiana University, located in Indianapolis, Indiana. Region III includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.
  • Region IV will be served by Metropolitan State University of Denver, located in Denver. Region IV includes Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

One of the top priorities of the Obama Administration is to expand equity in education through stronger schools while safeguarding the right of all students to a world-class education. These grants will help strengthen the administration’s goal of promoting diversity and equity in schools, King said.

Info: (Equity Assistance Centers).

About Frank Klimko

Frank Klimko is a nationally known journalist, grants expert and speech writer/speaker. He has years of experience helping nonprofits devise lists of the right funding opportunities and secure funding from these foundations and corporate entities. Clients have focused on an array of areas including child care, homeless, hunger and K-12 education. Additionally, he is a Freedom of Information Act expert, who has helped numerous clients with securing proprietary information from the federal government. Currently, Frank Klimko writes the Children & Youth Funding Report and Private Grants Alert, which are Washington DC-based publications. CYF is a daily publication covering Congress, the Education Dept. and the various federal regulatory agencies. PGA, another daily publication, covers the world of private philanthropy.
This entry was posted in Federal Funding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.